Resilience 2022 – the epilogue

We have come to the end of our epic adventure in the Himalayan mountains. There have been many incredible “highs” and some inevitable lows. Below are reflections from the members of this unique trip followed by some closing comments from our Leader without whose inspirational leadership, courage, humanity and good humour none of this would have been possible. This is our final blog entry and to those who have been following our journey, we hope you have enjoyed reading the entries and seeing some of the amazing photos. Thank your for joining us. A thank you also to Jaldeep (go “bro”) who has patiently collated the material we have sent it to him in note form over dodgy wifi and produced the blog. Sandeep

For me a lifetime ambition to go to the Himalayas and it didn’t disappoint. I knew the mountains would be impressive but was surprised by the verdant valleys of the lower slopes. The beauty of the environment was only matched by the kindness of the sherpas and the abilities of Paul to create an unforgettable experience. Ollie Rippier

I really enjoyed the cultural and religious part of the trip. Highlights were hugging a Buddhist monk and sat on top of Gokyo Ri remembering my father who died the day before. John Zanetti

The trip reminded me of something I had forgotten: that if people really, really, want to do something then they will dig deep to survive. It has inspired me. Finally, some mountains seem to “speak” to you; some mountains are enchanting. Highlight: Ama Dablam!! Rich Tompkins

A beautiful country, gentle, caring people, fascinating culture, and a full-on physical and mental challenge – I loved it. My highlight was walking quietly with the lead guide at the front of the group when he suddenly stopped and pointed into the woods to a grazing musk deer. Ces

Tackling the altitude was tough this time – perhaps being 12 years older than last time didn’t help! But the amazingly supportive team was always there to boost morale. The incredible, awe-inspiring view from Gokyo Ri made everything worthwhile. What an amazing trip with fabulous company – thank you, Paul and Nicky; thank you everyone. Nicky P

Altitude definitely gets harder with increasing years but what a fabulous and inspirational team to work with. Really enjoyed the views of the big mountains, from Gokyo Ri and very glad to have been of help, as well as receiving help and support from all the summiteers. Thank you, Paul and our amazing sherpas. Deb H

Little did I think I would tread the hallowed ground again, let alone make the ascent of Gokyo Ri and see the magnificent Sagarmatha again; but Paul has enabled the dream to come true! The best bit? Doing it all with my beloved together. Pat

This was special. The views from Gokyo Ri were something different. I look forward to painting the view I photographed. Nigel

I have been to the Himalayas many times for many different reasons but this was a unique, memorable and perhaps my most satisfying trip. I am grateful to have been part of such an eclectic but like-minded group all sharing the common goals of Paul’s vision to bring so much benefit to so many different groups in so many different ways. Bravo Paul and everyone for being such good team players. The highlight for me was seeing the genuine joy, excitement and satisfaction on the faces of Mark, Iona, Matt and Sarah on reaching Khumjung. Andrew Hughes

The best part of this trip is hard to define because it was all so good. So I’m going to cheat and give 3 answers as to the best bits.

TEAM – Spending time with our 3 amazing wounded and injured marines AND their three wives was nothing short of inspirational. The stoicism, the fortitude, the devotion, the zeal for life was infectious. I hope to live up to their example.

GEOGRAPHY – Ama Dablam was a mountain that fascinated me. However, much as I looked at her, I felt she was looking at me more!

CULTURE – Being part of the rare alchemy of Asian Trekking, Wilderness Solutions and the wonderful connections with the people of the Khumbu Valley and Khunjung was quite extraordinary. Paul has a web of connections that were so heart-warming and authentic. It’s been a privilege to be associated with it all. Alex

Highlights: riding a horse and meeting Priya, the helo pilot! An amazing experience, meeting the lovely Nepali people and seeing the wonderful Himalayas. I have my doubts over the Yeti skull however. Matt

What an amazing time we’ve had. From the spectacular heights of the Himalayas to the “craziness” of Kathmandu. Loved every second of it. Thanks so much for the opportunity. Fiona and Mark

First time “trekker” and had an amazing time. When you reach the top and see the magnificence of the Himalayas spread out in front of you….it’s all worth it! My other first was the helicopter ride back from Gokyo to Kathmandu. Memorable!! Anne

A month spent in Nepal, the second trek very different to the first. It was wonderful to be reunited with Paul and Lakhpa (what a team!) and to be in the Khumbu Valley, a magical place. Great to meet such wonderful and interesting people with incredible life experiences so different to mine. Matt and Mark and their wonderful partners were a true inspiration. My personal highlight was sitting at the fourth lake at Gokyo with Tensing in front of Cho Oyo and the glacier – truly spiritual and the reason I came back to the Himalayas. Sandeep             

At last I got to be part of one of Paul’s Adventures and what a special one it was seeing him pull it together and be the everything for everyone was inspiring. Meeting so many wonderful people and being with my special friends was fabulous. Yes, the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Seeing Everest from the top of Gokyo Ri was amazing. Ama Dablam won it for me. The yaks, ponies and porters carrying enormous loads – I’m in awe. My highlight – the peace of the place, the gentle and kind people, the fresh air. Thank you, Paul. Thank you everyone. Nicky Mattin

This has been an adventure of a lifetime. My biggest highlight is sitting here with some of the loveliest and amazing people I have ever met. Pizza with friends. As for the trek, I am totally humbled by the beauty of this country. The people, culture and way of life is special. Trekking to Namche was stunning. Namche to Gokyo was tough. The combination of all three (the team, the beautiful country and its people) has made this a spectacular adventure. To the team: thank you for welcoming us. You are each legends in your own lives. I enjoyed the “dits” and have learnt a whole new language. Full respect to the RM’s and equal respect to the wives that stood behind them. To Paul: Thank you. I could go on but you know how you have transformed people in my business. You have enriched our lives. Ash

And so, we draw our incredible journey to a close. It has been emotional! But for all the right reasons. Sharing a journey like this with the very best of friends is a true privilege. We have been blessed on every level. We owe so much to our star team – for their patience, professionalism and our guiding hand; and to each other for the spirit and unwavering morale we have consistently displayed. Matt and Mark – you have inspired and warmed our hearts throughout this incredible journey. And we will forever be lifted by your example. Thank you ‘Resilience 2022. And finally, in Lakhpa’s words “This has been the very best team we’ve had” – say no more! Namaste all. Paulo

One response to “Resilience 2022 – the epilogue”

  1. jamiegomer982 avatar
    jamiegomer982

    I can only imagine what you have all experienced, I have followed your journey and enjoyed your daily blogs. Paulo you are an inspiration leader what you have done for so many of us is beyond words. As Ash said you have transformed and enriched so many of us. Long may it continue.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started